Board of Advisors

Yuji Iwasawa


Professor Yuji Iwasawa holds the chair of international law at the Faculty of Law in the University of Tokyo. He currently serves as the Chairperson of the Human Rights Committee under the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the Vice-President of the Asian Development Bank Administrative Tribunal. He is formerly a member of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, a member of the Permanent Group of Experts under the WTO Agreement on Subsidies, the Rapporteur of the ILA Committee on International Human Rights Law and Practice, a Visiting Fellow at the Lauterpacht Research Centre for International Law in Cambridge, and a lecturer of the Hague Academy of International Law. He holds an LL.B. from the University of Tokyo, an LL.M. from Harvard University, and an S.J.D. from the University of Virginia. Recently, he was nominated as a candidate by the Government of Japan for the Election of a Judge to the ICJ.  

Tania Voon



Tania Voon is Professor at Melbourne Law School, The University of Melbourne. She is a former Legal Officer of the Appellate Body Secretariat of the World Trade Organization (WTO) and has previously practised law with Mallesons Stephen Jaques and the Australian Government Solicitor. In addition to her current role, Tania has taught law at the National University of Singapore, Georgetown University, the University of British Columbia, the University of Western Ontario, the Australian National University, Monash University, and Bond University. Tania undertook her Master of Laws at Harvard Law School and her PhD in Law at the University of Cambridge. She is widely published in the field of international economic law. 

Pär Hallström



Pär Hallström  is a Swedish legal writer and professor emeritus of Law at Umeå University. He graduated from Pantheon-Sorbonne University with a Diplôme d'Etudes Supérieures and holds a doctorate in law from Stockholm University. Hallström introduced EC constitutional law in Sweden with his work Europeisk Gemenskap och politisk union (European Community and Political Union), 1987, and WTO-law with his book The GATT Panels and the Formation of International Trade Law, 1994. 

Tomer Broude



Tomer Broude is the Sylvan M. Cohen Chair in Law at the Faculty of Law and Department of International Relations, and the Academic Director of the Minerva Center for Human Rights at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He has been a member of the Society of International Economic Law and is also a member of the Israel Bar. He has been Visiting Faculty in several eminent Universities and was also Appointed to the indicative list of governmental and non-governmental panellists in the WTO, where he is also a regional expert conducting various training sessions. He is widely published in this field. 

Jayashree Watal


With degrees in both Law and Economics, Ms. Watal has 22 years of experience working with the Government of India, and she represented India in the Uruguay Rounds TRIPS negotiation. At present, Ms. Watal is a Counsellor in the Intellectual Property, Government Procurement and Competition Division of the World Trade Organization, having held the position since 2001. She is a member of the Governance Board of the Medicines Patent Pool, a non-profit organisation based in Geneva, since 2015. She also holds part-time faculty positions at the Georgetown University Law Center and at the University of Barcelona’s International Economic Law and Policy (IELPO) programme. 

Hans Bernd Schäfer



Prof. Schaefer is a renowned German economist who is considered to be a pioneer in the field of law and economics in Europe. He has been a Professor of Law and Economics at the Bucerius Law School since 2009. Schäfer is professor emeritus at the University of Hamburg and former director of the Institute of Law & Economics. Previously, he has been visiting faculty at several premier institutions and a spokesperson of the Graduate School of Law and Economics. He has several publications on law and economics to his credit and has been the co-editor of International Review of Law and Economics, among several other notable works. 

Andrew T. Guzman



Dr. Guzman is the Dean and Carl Mason Franklin Chair in Law, at University of South California, Gould School of Law. Guzman earned his JD and PhD (Economics) from Harvard University, where he was Books & Commentaries Editor for the Harvard Law Review. He has written extensively on international trade, international regulatory matters, foreign direct investment and public international law and is a noted authority on law and economics. Prior to joining USC Gould, he was the Jackson H. Ralston Professor of Law and associate dean of International and Advanced Programs at UC Berkeley. 

Won-Mog Choi


Professor Won-Mog Choi is a professor of international trade law and director of the WTO Law Center, Ewha Womans University School of Law at Seoul. He is a member of New York Bar. Professor Choi received his legal education in the United States (Georgetown Law, S.J.D. and LL.M.) and Korea (Seoul National University, M.P.A. and LL.B). He has worked for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Korea for 11 years as a diplomat and was in charge of numerous trade issues, including WTO dispute settlements, trade remedy issues, and FTAs. Currently advising the Korean Government on trade law and policy issues and working as columnist of major newspapers in Seoul, Professor Choi has extensively published books and articles.